Homemade Prosperity: How to Get Out of the Consumer Trap

Everywhere I look I see signs of hope.  This is a great piece on AlterNet.

Radical Homemaker Shannon Hayes discovered that producing what she needs at home lets her live on a fraction of what she thought she needed.
December 17, 2010 |

It should have been a high point in my life. I had just successfully defended my dissertation and had three potential job opportunities. But I found myself pacing around our cabin or walking the hills of my family’s farm, alternately weeping and hurling invectives into the country air. Bob and I were fighting with a force I’d never seen.

The simple fact was, I didn’t want the job I’d spent years working toward.

“I thought you wanted this! Why the hell did you just spend the last four years at Cornell? Why did we just go through with this? Why did you say that’s what you wanted?”

http://www.alternet.org/story/149231/vision_–_homemade_prosperity%3A_how_to_get_out_of_the_consumer_trap

One thought on “Homemade Prosperity: How to Get Out of the Consumer Trap

  1. I wanted to quote two other paragraphs. They provide a succinct historical reference that helps us understand all that we have forgotten, as human beings, in the art of living.

    “Once the industrial revolution took hold, the household changed. Men were first to leave the home to work in factories, where they earned wages and used them to purchase the goods and services they were no longer home to produce. The more men worked outside the home, the more households had to buy in order to meet their needs.

    For a time, women continued to produce from within the home, but factories eventually supplanted the housewives’ duties as well. As time wore on, domestic skills were no longer paramount for survival. Instead of cultivating skills to provide for our own needs, we pursued skills to produce for others’ needs in exchange for the money to buy what was once produced in the home. The household had changed from a center of production that supplied most of its own needs to a center of consumption that bought nearly everything it needed.”

Leave a Reply

